Academy of Country Music Announces Performers for 44th Annual Country Music Awards Apr. 5

March 7, 2009 by  

The Academy of Country Music announced that country music superstars Toby Keith, Miranda Lambert, Tim McGraw, Heidi Newfield, Rascal Flatts, Sugarland and Taylor Swift will perform as part of the 44th ANNUAL ACADEMY OF COUNTRY MUSIC AWARDS, hosted by Reba McEntire. The ceremony, which honors country music’s top talent as well as the industry’s hottest emerging artists, is produced for television by dick clark productions and will be broadcast LIVE from MGM GRAND in Las Vegas on Sunday, April 5th, 2009 at 8:00 PM ET/PT on the CBS Television Network.

Toby Keith is nominated this year for Top Male Vocalist. He has won eight Academy of Country Music Awards and took home the Entertainer of the Year honor in both 2002 and 2003.

Miranda Lambert is nominated for two Academy of Country Music Awards, one for Top Female Vocalist and the other for Single Record of the Year for “Gunpower & Lead.” Lambert won Album of the Year in 2007 for Crazy Ex-Girlfriend.

Reba McEntire will return to host the show for the record eleventh time. McEntire has won 12 Academy of Country Music Awards. She has taken home the Entertainer of the Year Award and has been named Top Female Vocalist seven times.

Tim McGraw has won 16 Academy of Country Music Awards, including four wins for Top Male Vocalist. McGraw was also honored with the Career Achievement Award in 2006.

Heidi Newfield is nominated for five Academy of Country Music awards this year, including Top Female Vocalist. She is also nominated for Single Record of the Year from her debut album What Am I Waiting For and is nominated as an artist and composer for Song of the Year for “Johnny & June,” for which she is also nominated for Video of the Year.

Rascal Flatts has taken home seven Academy of Country Music Awards. Last year the group was honored for their philanthropic work with The Home Depot Humanitarian Award.

Sugarland is nominated for Top Vocal Duo and Vocal Event of the Year. Last year they won Single Record of the Year and Song of the Year for “Stay” and were honored in 2005 with the Top New Vocal Duo or Group Award.

Taylor Swift is nominated for four Academy of Country Music awards in three categories including Top Female Vocalist, Album of the Year for Fearless (which she also produced) and Video of the Year for “Love Story.” She won Top New Female Vocalist last year.

© 2009, All rights reserved. All content copyrighted or used with permission. All rights reserved. This content may not be distributed, modified, reproduced in whole or in part without prior permission from

Now you can Follow on
Facebook, Pinterest, Google+, Instagram and Twitter!

Shop Best of Vegas for all your Las Vegas Travel needs!
Las Vegas News Websites

Follow us on Social Media!

Friend us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterAdd us to Google+Follow us on PinterestJoin Bryan on LinkedInRSS FeedFollow us on Instagram
Advertise on
Sidebar links, graphic ads, poster ads, sponsored articles, hot-linked terms! Click for Examples!

Nick Kallos' Casino Gaming School for casino dealers in Las Vegas. Learn to deal Roulette, Blackjack, Craps, Poker, Baccarat and Pai Gow Poker.

Learn to be a Casino Dealer in Las Vegas!

Click here!
 covers celebrity sightings, upcoming shows and concerts, hotel & casino news, nightclubs,
travel information, sports, plus information about restaurants, conventions and tourist attractions. We have
some of the greatest celebrity photos you've ever seen so check us daily for the latest news about Las Vegas!

Copyright (c) 2004-2017 Bryan Eggers
Send news, editorial comments, suggestions and press releases to