Illuminating for the first time since the property closed on May 4, the Neon Museum officially lit the Riviera Hotel & Casino sign.
The Riviera joins a small group of restored signs in the Neon Boneyard that are able to be illuminated. The sign is located just above the iconic Stardust sign. Young Electric Sign Company (YESCO) generously updated the sign by donating a new electrical system and bulbs.
The Riviera opened on the northern part of the Strip in 1955 during a precarious time; this was when there was doubt the Las Vegas casino boom would last due to casinos opening in quick succession. The “Riv” was the first high-rise hotel on Las Vegas Boulevard. Its elegant design set it apart from many of the other resorts that often resembled the motor courts that were popular with travelers. The resort was a successful entertainment spot.
Liberace played on opening night and headlined for many years. Dean Martin performed and even owned a stake in the business. The Riviera also played host to a variety of billiards tournaments including the American Poolplayers Association held every year at the resort for more than 20 years, including the week before the Riviera closed in May 2015. Several pieces of the graceful signage were donated to the museum, including this piece that originally adorned the Riviera’s East Side porte-cochère.
The Neon Museum
770 N Las Vegas Blvd.
Las Vegas, NV 89101
For more information, visit www.NeonMuseum.org.
© 2015, . All rights reserved. All content copyrighted or used with permission. All rights reserved. This content may not be distributed, modified, reproduced in whole or in part without prior permission from VegasNews.com